COM125C

Posted: January 23, 2011 in Message
Tags: , , , , , ,

As I grow in age, I realize the ever increasing importance of social networking as it can often open the doors of opportunity. Whenever I think of networks, I inevitably think of The Internet, which is a large network of computers.

6 years ago, when I was taking a Diploma in Multimedia and Information Technology, the term ‘network’ was constantly brought up. As my specialization brought me into hardcore game programming, much less leisure time was spent on The Internet. After graduating and enlisting to National Service, many technicalities such as the type of hubs and the OSI Model were but fragments of a distant memory.

After attending this week’s COM125 lessons, at there mere mention of IP Address Classes, my recollection was jolted and I recalled what I learnt on the binary numeral system; 8 bits = 1 byte, packet switching, and how data is sent from a sender to a receiver with reference to the OSI Model.

While this week’s lesson is generally a refresher for me, I have refined my knowledge of The Internet after My Choy aired a very comprehensive video clip on how The Internet works. Mr Choy has certainly made his lessons interesting; as a result, I am able to remain attentive and I find delight in rediscovering my forgotten knowledge.

Let me end this post with a memorable quote that I learnt during my prior acquaintance to The Internet and its networks – There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don’t.

Comments
  1. Abel says:

    Yeah. Tks. Great start n press on! Abel

Leave a Reply

